Maddie Knits

My addiction to knitting and the life around it.

Sweat Your Brains Out

Yes, I really do think that it’s become possible to “sweat your brains out.”  It was so fucking hot today that I just wanted to lounge around in a sports bra and some Soffe shorts and not leave the house all day.  Alas, staying over at the boyfriend’s house last night made that next to impossible since I had to get up and go back to my own house today — funny thing is, here I am back at his place writing up this post while he sleeps.  Anyways, I had to get out of the nice air-conditioning to go to my sweltering black Volvo to make the trek back to my own abode — which is only about 10 minutes away, but STILL!

Anyways, I have ripped out my sock knitting because I’ve just become so infuriated with it!  I’m not quite sure what to do with myself.  I sat down to start knitting some more tonight, but I ripped out about an inch worth of work about 4 times and now I’m trying a new little cable-ish number, hoping that something may go right with this one.  I have to post my deepest apologies to my SITM swap partner because I’m not quite sure what will come of my first ever pair of socks.  I’m quite the perfectionist, but this is just crazy.  I can’t seem to keep the pattern going properly and I’m picking up and dropping stitches all over the place, which is just NOT something I do, EVER!  Anyways, I’ll persevere and get these stinking things done so I won’t be letting down my swap buddy [ who must still remain secret because the swap isn’t over yet, you sillies! ].

I hope that someone has heard of the band Less Than Jake [ who will now forever be referred to as LTJ ].  I’m not one for being able to classify types of music, so I’ll just go with a Punky/Alternative type band.  I love them!  I’m currently counting down the days until Victor and I will be heading down to Richmond to see their show at Toad’s Place [ great name, right? ].  I just saw them not too long ago at the 9:30 Club [ in Washington, DC for those who aren’t in the know ] and it’s just GREAT that I’ll be able to see them again so soon [ next Saturday, YAY! ].

Anyways, I wanted to stick a post up here, even if it wasn’t about knitting.  I feel that with the heat wave going on right now, thinking about knitting anything will put me into a nice sweat.  Hope everyone is keeping themselves cool!  Take care =)

July 9, 2007 - Posted by | Knitting, New Projects, Socks, Swaps, Victor

2 Comments »

  1. why don’t you try the “monkey” pattern on knitty for your sock pattern. I found it to be quit quick and very easy to follow along. If you would like some help on your socks, let me know. We could get together and work on them. I’ve done four or five different pairs now and I’ve come across several, ok many, issues that come with sock knitting. But I promise you it does get easier. Stick with it.

    Comment by Wendy | July 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. Number 1. I like the phrase…”Sweating my balls off”. Referring, of course, to yarn. It’s been like that here on Long Island as well. And on the topic, if one more person says “It’s not the heat, it’s the humidity” I might loose my mind. It’s the heat. Always.

    Number 2. Yes. I have heard of Less Than Jake. And thank you for the reminder of how old I am. Or how old they are. 🙂

    Number 3. I’m very excited about the football-a-long…we are over 40 memebers now…How wonderful!

    Number 4. How’s your Mystery Stole coming? I am loving the pattern!!

    Comment by Jen - Football-a-Long | July 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

